Master Server Update

Our latest need-to-know information.
39 posts Page 1 of 3 First unread post
StackOverflow
Head Admin / Co-founder
Head Admin / Co-founder
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:13 am


Figured I'd make this an official announcement. Only a few days late.

As stated in this thread, I have reverse-engineered the master server protocol and have a new master server ready to go. A small semi-public test was done the other night and it went perfectly. The master server has since been bridged with our web server so we are ready to throw up our own serverlist, completely independent of Jagex.

What is the "master server"?

The master server is a centralized server that game servers can connect to to have themselves listed on a centralized serverlist. Until now, Jagex has had control over the master server and is the only sense of control that Jagex has over 0.x. With our own master server, we will be completely stand-alone.

What will this mean for server owners?

In order to use our master server, existing pyspades installations will need to be updated to connect to it. We are intending on releasing a forked version of pyspades (currently dubbed "pysnip") that will better suit our needs, including but not limited to pointing to our master server.

Optionally, server owners will be able to make simple modification in their existing pyspades installation code to use our server.

What version(s) will the master server support?

Currently, it supports 0.75. We will likely be adding support for 0.76 RC10 as well later on.
rakiru
Coder
Coder
Posts: 1349
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:26 pm


Still called pysnip? I tallied up the suggestions for the name for you and everything. ;(

But yeah, nice work. When can we expect a json version? :3
TB_
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:59 pm


this is great news, I'm looking forward to break away from jagex.
Kalin
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:59 pm


yaaaay
PXYC
Former Pre-BnS Team
Former Pre-BnS Team
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:50 pm


Woohoo!
lh48532
Deuce
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:36 am


Yay!! :blue: :lol: :D
rakiru
Coder
Coder
Posts: 1349
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:26 pm


Image
StackOverflow
Head Admin / Co-founder
Head Admin / Co-founder
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:13 am


rakiru wrote:
Still called pysnip? I tallied up the suggestions for the name for you and everything. ;(

But yeah, nice work. When can we expect a json version? :3
Just saw this, I assume you mean a JSON serverlist? If so, yes, one will be publicly available.
AcornSpades
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:59 pm


Good job.
[BP]TheKeyToaster
Deuce
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:22 am


Awh Yeah ! Nice work guys.

And on this version, You can change the flag next to the server name ?

Sorry for my very bad english.... :)
StackOverflow
Head Admin / Co-founder
Head Admin / Co-founder
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:13 am


[BP]TheKeyToaster wrote:
Awh Yeah ! Nice work guys.

And on this version, You can change the flag next to the server name ?

Sorry for my very bad english.... :)
The flags next to the server names are determined by a GeoIP lookup. This is handled by the master server.
KomradeKorakoff
League Champs
League Champs
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:24 pm


I believe he's talking about the actual graphic of the flags.

On another note, good job Stack!
CooLDoG
Deuced Up
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:18 pm


Great! Ace of Spades is saved!!!
[BP]TheKeyToaster
Deuce
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:22 am


KomradeKorakoff wrote:
I believe he's talking about the actual graphic of the flags.

On another note, good job Stack!
No, i speak about cange our flag because we have (for exemple) a serveur hosting in France for a english community.
StackOverflow wrote:


The flags next to the server names are determined by a GeoIP lookup. This is handled by the master server.
Yes, i know, but why not shearch the data by the new pyspades, that way, we can change the code for to choose the flag.

I propose that because ace of spades 0.75 is now bases on this community, and it is better choice the flag in terms of the community, and no the geolocate.


EDIT : Sorry (again) for my very bad english, but i'm french :P
StackOverflow
Head Admin / Co-founder
Head Admin / Co-founder
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:13 am


I'm afraid I still don't get what you mean. Are you referring to language and not physical location? The flag indicates the country of origin, not the "language" for the server.
39 posts Page 1 of 3 First unread post
Return to “Official News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests