What if someone remade Ace of spades?

Doesn't quite fit anywhere else? Post here!
55 posts Page 1 of 4
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


What if someone remade Ace of spades, the way it was meant to be, with better graphics and such. (And I'm not asking because I'm currently working on something ;) )
HoboHob
Winter Celebration 2013
Winter Celebration 2013
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:02 pm


It's called Iceball: http://buildandshoot.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=60

It already has somewhat of a following here.

I've also been working on my own Ace clone that uses OpenGL and that stuffz. But I will probably end up stopping because in the end, Iceball will probably be 10x more advanced than mine.
Last edited by HoboHob on Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


Fair enough xD didn't notice it. I'm currently working on a game inspired by the original Ace of spades with a WWII theme. I'm using unity3D engine and already got a quite a lot done, might upload a video of it sometime once I think the game is ready. Honestly I'm just trying to reimagine Ace of spades while keeping the trench warfare kind of spirit.
rakiru
Coder
Coder
Posts: 1349
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:26 pm


If you can actually program, then I suggest making a thread about your project in the 0.x section when you've got the basics done.
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


Ok I will, I just want to get everything kinda ready and playable
Last edited by UNITiS on Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Moghard
Deuced Up
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:15 pm


That's exactly the thing I was waiting for!
I can make GUI and menu textures for you!
Just say what you need trough a PM.
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


Thanks! Because of the way I work on games though, menus and gui are usually the last things I add. Imma finish most of the actual functionality first, but when I start working on GUI I'll contact you
HoboHob
Winter Celebration 2013
Winter Celebration 2013
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:02 pm


As long as it's free, I'm in. Unity is a good engine. The main problem though is most people here (like myself) have crap computers. I can play most Unity games at about 20-30 FPS, but most probably won't.
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


Ok I'll keep that in mind while making it, I will try to optimize it the best I can but can't really promise too much. XD Also regarding the free part: All my games are free
Moghard
Deuced Up
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:15 pm


Good luck with optimizing it, add options like dynamic shadows and stuff, so people without shader 2.0 can play it. I'am sure some scripts can change these.

I made a fast sketch of how the menu can look like. Of course it's just a suggestion, I think it would look better if it were blocky.
Image

I think that I'll make the background made out of blocks, and a hole on the centre, so an animated picture (some hills and deuces?) can be placed there.
UNITiS
Deuced Up
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:18 pm


That looks pretty awesome, all the movement and the gun code is done now (I started a day ago, taking breaks to play Far cry 3 and TF2 xD)
Conduit
Build and Shoot's 1st Birthday
Build and Shoot's 1st Birthday
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:48 am


Get Activision involved.
HoboHob
Winter Celebration 2013
Winter Celebration 2013
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:02 pm


Or better yet, Jagex.
Mrmath130
Deuced Up
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:07 am


HoboHob wrote:
Or better yet, Jagex.
How about NO. Blue_Septic
Jdrew
Mapper
Mapper
Posts: 4808
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:48 pm


I am also making my own clone called tribz Blue_Happy1
55 posts Page 1 of 4
Return to “The Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest