OpenSpades introduction

OpenSpades is an open source alternative client for AoS Classic and beyond! Runs on Windows, Mac, and Linux. Created by yvt.
Compatible with AoS Classic.
665 posts Page 26 of 45
mcape6
Deuce
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:53 pm


T3ER wrote:
mcape6 wrote:
T3ER wrote:
But how do i change team and also how do i change textures, ironsight(if i said it right) is so annoying for me because it is bigger than original so i can't get headshots but everything else is amazing. Btw im not new i just havenbeen stalking here and on aloha servers i get openal error(have to check was it that) but on fullscreen i don't.
Well you would have to get a program to gain entrance into the .pak folder extension (I recommend 7zip because it works and is free). Then you just delete, move, rename what ever you want to change. I believe the file your looking for is called 'sight' and can be found in the BASE folder. If you want to change the legitimate iron sight, you would have to edit the kv6, otherwise its basically stuck the way it is.
it doesnt work, there is also sight.tga file.
Then just get a program that can edit tga silly.
boxtropica
Deuce
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:39 pm


I'd just like to say that OpenSpades works 100% on Debian-based Distros (Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Mint, DebianX) using the latest release of Wine.
No Winetricks needed.
IronThunder
Deuce
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:10 pm


boxtropica wrote:
I'd just like to say that OpenSpades works 100% on Debian-based Distros (Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Mint, DebianX) using the latest release of Wine.
No Winetricks needed.
I have done a try and... on my computer it doesn't work.
instead to using wine, using linux, i think it works better using a virtual machine whit windows installed;
but, using wine or a virtual machine, you must set the settings lower than if you compile it on linux and you succeed to make it works and you simply can't do anithing to solve this.
Daniel_Laixer
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm


boxtropica wrote:
I'd just like to say that OpenSpades works 100% on Debian-based Distros (Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Mint, DebianX) using the latest release of Wine.
No Winetricks needed.
Why in the goddamn world would you use WINE when you can run it natively on GNU/Linux?
Twily
Deuced Up
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:57 am


Daniel_Laixer wrote:
boxtropica wrote:
I'd just like to say that OpenSpades works 100% on Debian-based Distros (Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Mint, DebianX) using the latest release of Wine.
No Winetricks needed.
Why in the goddamn world would you use WINE when you can run it natively on GNU/Linux?
Some are too lazy and can't have a mind to comprehend self compiling, maybe.
mumblemumble
Deuce
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:28 pm


VERY nice thing you have going here, its quite nice. Looks better than the jagex mess, and still has the better gameplay.

I do have a few suggestions however...

*Some sort of obvious reskin to ragdolls, so people wont shoot at ragdolls leaned on walls (they DO look just like dueces) or some way to know them apart (seriously, someone dying with their back to a wall makes an almost fool proof scare crow, and its aggravating to take 5 shots at a corpses just to figure out its already dead.)
*Add a pause screen, even something so much as a "Sure you want to quit" screen. I hit esc by habit to pause, and it sucks to have my session close because of it.
*Add functionality for holding backspace to delete multiple characters in chat.
*Tracers on radar?

Besides these, very nice!....I will admit though, getting used to shooting is a little weird, maybe its because the zoom is more intense on this version, but guns also feel less accurate...might just be the zoom though. Could also been I've just been playing other shooters recently.
Jdrew
Mapper
Mapper
Posts: 4808
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:48 pm


You can turn tag doll physics off
Daniel_Laixer
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm


mumblemumble wrote:
*Add a pause screen, even something so much as a "Sure you want to quit" screen. I hit esc by habit to pause, and it sucks to have my session close because of it.
*Add functionality for holding backspace to delete multiple characters in chat.
*Tracers on radar?
+1 for all of these suggestions. Yesterday I was playing on Aloha.pk Blockpower server and I kept pressing ESC by accident.
mumblemumble wrote:
Besides these, very nice!....I will admit though, getting used to shooting is a little weird, maybe its because the zoom is more intense on this version, but guns also feel less accurate...might just be the zoom though. Could also been I've just been playing other shooters recently.
Do you feel like guns are blocking your sight?
Stuart98
3 Years of Ace of Spades
3 Years of Ace of Spades
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 9:56 pm


I'm getting no messages in the command prompt after the netlog is started and the window stays frozen until I kill it or the command prompt. Any ideas?
mumblemumble
Deuce
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:28 pm


Daniel_Laixer wrote:
Do you feel like guns are blocking your sight?
Part of it is that, the rifle sight in particular is friggin HUGE (particularly the rear sights on the left and right side), bigger than some heavy weapon sights from other games. But its also I think there's hit detection issues. Actually I KNOW there is, sometimes I will shoot and know its a hit (you can agrue I'm a bad shot but still) and the guy wont go down from a headshot, and other times I will spew blood from being "shot" in my client, but my health wont go down. So there's Definitely hit detection issues to be dealt with.

And as for jdrew, yes I know I can disable ragdolls and I have, but the point is, especially with corpses which are thrown into walls (and can glitch to be "glued" to the surface) An upright corpse on a wall especially from a distance is a 100% look alike to a living deuce. I do LOVE ragdolls, I just want some way (either by fixing the glued to wall effect, or with a minor re-texture of a dirtied up deuce, with bruises and x's for eyes) to let me know that bodies AREN'T alive. Even just simple cross hash marks all over to show hes been beaten down and x's for eyes would be enough.
Daniel_Laixer
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm


mumblemumble wrote:
Daniel_Laixer wrote:
Do you feel like guns are blocking your sight?
Part of it is that, the rifle sight in particular is friggin HUGE (particularly the rear sights on the left and right side), bigger than some heavy weapon sights from other games. But its also I think there's hit detection issues. Actually I KNOW there is, sometimes I will shoot and know its a hit (you can agrue I'm a bad shot but still) and the guy wont go down from a headshot, and other times I will spew blood from being "shot" in my client, but my health wont go down. So there's Definitely hit detection issues to be dealt with.
There is a low guns pack than can help you with the view issues, you should give it a look: http://www.buildandshoot.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5543
mumblemumble
Deuce
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:28 pm


thanks for the link. Though honestly its only the rifle which provides a problem for being able to see.
averagePizza
Deuce
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:13 pm


liljoe1997 wrote:

butthurt.
Programming rights? It's open source, that means anyone can contribute something to it and it will probably not get you caught in jail
Also, you can study code... or just be patient and wait for the devs to fix the issues. I'd put a huge rant here about how you're actually some kid who lies about not being a little kid so he could be seen as mature but I'm too tired.
Daniel_Laixer
Deuced Up
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:14 pm


mumblemumble wrote:
thanks for the link. Though honestly its only the rifle which provides a problem for being able to see.
You can have the rifle only if you want. You simply have to remove the SMG and Shotgun folders from the .pak file:
  • 1. Change the file extension from .pak to .zip
    2. Open the file with WinRAR or 7zip or any compressor that can handle zip files.
    3. Delete the SMG and Shotgun folders that are in the Models folder (you can also delete the Player folder if you want to see the default long arm).
    4. Change the file extension again back to .pak
T3ER
Deuced Up
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 1:01 pm


I hope that you fix asap problem on aiming or whatever causes it to be so hard to headshot, ui just shot so many times someone in head and he didnt die, so annoying. Even though it is really bad thing other things are great!
665 posts Page 26 of 45
Return to “OpenSpades Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests