FPS Fix

The original, free Ace of Spades game powered by the Voxlap engine. Known as “Classic,” 0.75, 0.76, and all 0.x versions. Created by Ben Aksoy.
23 posts Page 1 of 2 First unread post
tin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:12 pm


Hey, I haven't seen any appropriate slash working threads regarding this.

I bought a new laptop and I'm stuck at around 20fps, but laptop should be able to get more fps.

AMD Quad Core A8-4500M 1.90GHz (4MB cache)
AMD Radeon HD8750M 2GB
RAM 4GB DDR3 1600MHz

Thanks in advance! :)
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


Are you playing in fullscreen or windowed mode?
tin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:12 pm


Fullscreen.
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


That migth be a problem on some CPUs... have you tried playing in windowed mode, and noticed anything different regarding FPS?
HoboHob
Winter Celebration 2013
Winter Celebration 2013
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:02 pm


What's your CPU temps when you play? CPU throttling can kill your FPS. Though I somewhat doubt it's your CPU overheating.

Even why my CPU hits its T.J. Max I can still play AoS ~40 FPS.
Gingerninjaperson
League Participant
League Participant
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:48 pm


Someone told me (have no clue on the legitness of this) that this games engine is optimized for older computers, don't know why that would impact FPS on better ones though. I have an i5 3570k stock clock and a 650, and I usually get ~60fps.
learn_more
Coder
Coder
Posts: 891
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm


Gingerninjaperson wrote:
Someone told me (have no clue on the legitness of this) that this games engine is optimized for older computers, don't know why that would impact FPS on better ones though. I have an i5 3570k stock clock and a 650, and I usually get ~60fps.
it doesnt use the gpu for rendering so a good video card doesnt do anything.
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


learn_more wrote:
Gingerninjaperson wrote:
Someone told me (have no clue on the legitness of this) that this games engine is optimized for older computers, don't know why that would impact FPS on better ones though. I have an i5 3570k stock clock and a 650, and I usually get ~60fps.
it doesnt use the gpu for rendering so a good video card doesnt do anything.
It does use MMX and/or SSE though, which on most, if not all, modern systems is contained in the GPU.
learn_more
Coder
Coder
Posts: 891
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm


VladVP wrote:
It does use MMX and/or SSE though, which on most, if not all, modern systems is contained in the GPU.
and again, you are full of shit.
please don't comment at all if you don't have a clue what you are talking about.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streaming_SIMD_Extensions
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MMX_(instruction_set)


and to stay ontopic:
i have found amd processors to perform worse on cpu-heavy games than intel processors.
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


I meant that MMX registers and instructions on most modern systems were located in, and handled by the GPU. The fact that MMX and SIMD are CPU extensions, doesn't mean they have to be used on a CPU.
learn_more
Coder
Coder
Posts: 891
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm


that would be a totally retarded implementation, as performance would degrade severely.
tin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:12 pm


Alright so... any actual fix for this?
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


tin wrote:
Alright so... any actual fix for this?
Did you feel any difference when you tried my suggestion?

learn_more wrote:
that would be a totally retarded implementation, as performance would degrade severely.
And once again, you are full of excrement.
It's a common and well-known fact that most GPUs which are not from the 80's have a significantly better performance than CPUs. Both in terms of calculation speed (Both integer ops and flops), but also graphics calculations or read/write speed. That last thing is exactly what MMX and SSE is designed to deal with. How can performance "degrade severely" if the technology in question is moved to a platform which makes it operate faster?
learn_more
Coder
Coder
Posts: 891
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:59 pm


VladVP wrote:
And once again, you are full of excrement.
It's a common and well-known fact that most GPUs which are not from the 80's have a significantly better performance than CPUs. Both in terms of calculation speed (Both integer ops and flops), but also graphics calculations or read/write speed. That last thing is exactly what MMX and SSE is designed to deal with. How can performance "degrade severely" if the technology in question is moved to a platform which makes it operate faster?
do you know ANYTHING about pc architecture at all?

what is the processor executing a program?
the cpu
now imagine (lol) someone wanted mmx instructions to occur on the gpu
first, the cpu determines it's a gpu instruction
then it sends the instruction + data needing processing to the gpu over whatever the gpu is in, (so could be anything including pci) to the gpu
the gpu executes
the gpu sends the result back


would that be faster than the cpu handling the instruction itself?

not by a long shot.
VladVP
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 1425
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:48 pm


learn_more wrote:
VladVP wrote:
And once again, you are full of excrement.
It's a common and well-known fact that most GPUs which are not from the 80's have a significantly better performance than CPUs. Both in terms of calculation speed (Both integer ops and flops), but also graphics calculations or read/write speed. That last thing is exactly what MMX and SSE is designed to deal with. How can performance "degrade severely" if the technology in question is moved to a platform which makes it operate faster?
do you know ANYTHING about pc architecture at all?

what is the processor executing a program?
the cpu
now imagine (lol) someone wanted mmx instructions to occur on the gpu
first, the cpu determines it's a gpu instruction
then it sends the instruction + data needing processing to the gpu over whatever the gpu is in, (so could be anything including pci) to the gpu
the gpu executes
the gpu sends the result back


would that be faster than the cpu handling the instruction itself?

not by a long shot.
Come on, now you're just pulling this out of your ass.

How is
Spoiler:
Code: Select all
mov rax, [src]
mov rbx, [dst]
shr rax, 48
shr rbx, 48
add rbx, rax
and rbx, FFFFh
shl rbx, 48
or rcx, rbx

mov rax, [src]
mov rbx, [dst]
shr rax, 32
shr rbx, 32
and rax, FFFFh
and rbx, FFFFh
add rbx, rax
and rbx, FFFFh
shl rbx, 32
or rcx, rbx

mov rax, [src]
mov rbx, [dst]
shr rax, 16
shr rbx, 16
and rax, FFFFh
and rbx, FFFFh
add rbx, rax
and rbx, FFFFh
shl rbx, 16
or rcx, rbx

mov rax, [src]
mov rbx, [dst]
and rax, FFFFh
and rbx, FFFFh
add rbx, rax
and rbx, FFFFh
or rcx, rbx

mov [dst], rcx
processed on the CPU, faster than
Code: Select all
movq mm0, [src]
movq mm1, [dst]
paddw mm0, mm1
movq [dst], mm0
processed on the GPU?


Hint: It's not!
Even with the 0.5-tick delay that CPU-GPU communication might generate, you still don't get close to the performance capability of MMX/SSE.
Do you think those GPU-based 10-minute WEP password crackers would be possible with a delay as huge as you're assuming?
We had some hefty discussions about this very topic when I was working on the Voxlap port with Sonar and Cajun.
23 posts Page 1 of 2 First unread post
Return to “Ace of Spades 0.x Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests