[25/04/13] Sci-fi spades (A BREAK DUE TO EXAMS)

If it ain't Spades...
39 posts Page 1 of 3 First unread post
UNITiS
Deuced Up

Link to the poll: http://www.buildandshoot.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3146
It's really important that as many people as possible vote, since I need to figure out some things to do with terrain meshes.
Hello, my name is UNITiS. And I'm a game developer.

At the moment I'm working on a game inspired by Ace of spades 0.75 which will include destructible voxel terrain and other general shooter mechanics.
The vision:
A relatively slow paced Sci-fi FPS with character, weapon and equipment customization. Slight limited mod support is planned, which will allow players to create custom weapon and character models as well as custom block textures and maybe a couple extra things but we'll have to see. A built in map editor, to allow for easy map editing. Wide range of options for the server owners.
Maybe a commander mode, where one of the players sees the battlefield from a strategy game kind of view. Where the commander can give others orders and do some exclusive stuff to help his team.

Currently I'm working on the terrain and later I will start working on the actual game mechanics. And I have yet to decide on the actual style of the game, one side of me wants to make a WW2-ish shooter like what AoS wanted to be initially however the other side of me wants to make a Sci-fi shooter. I'm more likely to go with the latter, as honestly I think we have more than enough AoS clones as of now, like Project Iceball (developer of which has a really weird attitude towards newbies) and the rest of the games in the Noteworthy picks.

Currently working on: Terrain. (Working on shifting chunks seamlessly)
Progress: 81%
[/color][/b]

To do list:
* Finish of the terrain. 81%
* Networking, server - client and vice versa interaction. 0%
* Add basic shooter controls for the early demo. 0%
* Add the mechanics from 0.75, so people can actually play. 0%
Screenies: