[HELP]Open Spades Lan Server

Host your own server and communicate with server operators.
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Seanson
Deuce
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:39 pm


I hate to have my first post requesting help, but I can't find any information on making a LAN server. There was a post made earlier but its a little old and the link that posted that solved the issue was dead.
If anyone knows how to make a LAN only server or can explain some of the less obvious items in the config that would be great(1).

As of now, I broke my config file and when I use the .exe to start the server it just flashes and then closes.(2)


I'm hosting this at my school for Relay For Life in a few months so its for a good cause. Any help would be greatly appreciated.




Updates:
1) https://code.google.com/p/pysnip/wiki/ConfigDotTxt
2) Fixed my config, was missing some commas after I added extras.
-Using the BAT launcher allows you to read the errors.
3) If I make the server public, I crash halfway through the snapshot download.
4) Changing Team 1's name to anything makes Team 2 blank(unless its called "Green")
5) Changing Team 2's name to anything but "Green" causes the snapshot download crash
Last edited by Seanson on Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:26 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Warp
Green Master Race
Green Master Race
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 4:07 pm


If you're running it at school, make sure it doesn't have any firewall/filter doing anything to PySnip/blocking ports/connections.

Just a thought- good luck!
IAmYourFriend
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:58 pm


Seanson wrote:
3) If I make the server public, I crash halfway through the snapshot download.
Are you able to connect to it using localhost? [url]aos://16777343[/url]
Seanson
Deuce
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:39 pm


Warp wrote:
If you're running it at school, make sure it doesn't have any firewall/filter doing anything to PySnip/blocking ports/connections.

Just a thought- good luck!
Thanks for the reminder, I'm going to test it in my school once I get either mode working.



IAmYourFriend wrote:
Seanson wrote:
3) If I make the server public, I crash halfway through the snapshot download.
Are you able to connect to it using localhost? [url]aos://16777343[/url]
It doesn't connect and gives the reason: "unknown reason".

If I try and join through the server list it will crash about 1/3 the way through the snapshot download. I have a few crash.dmp files but I have windows 7 and its a tad too difficult to read them.
Silnius
Assistant Moderator
Assistant Moderator
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:15 am


Well in any case you still have this http://www.buildandshoot.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10937 , if you failed setting it up on your school
LeCom
Post Demon
Post Demon
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 8:07 am


Really, if you have so much trouble connecting, try AoS, even if you actually want openspades. Then write how it worked.
Warp
Green Master Race
Green Master Race
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 4:07 pm


If you want more help, feel free to PM me. No expert, but have been learning abt servers recently so might be able to help. :)
connormason10
Deuce
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:29 am


Ask an official at your school to make an exception for the server and run it as admin.
after that just make whoever is playing is connecting through localhost.
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Return to “Servers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest