Page 1 of 1

pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:27 pm
by shywolf91
I am trying to set up a private server on my macbook pro. I got everything installed and can run it with the default config file and when I turn off master but when I try to change irc to true and put my channel I get an error.

Normal output: (default and master off)

sh run_server.sh
(creating config.txt from config.txt.default)
('from' command disabled - missing pygeoip)
2014-11-06 15:14:43-0800 [-] Log opened.
2014-11-06 15:14:43-0800 [-] Generating map 'classicgen #1585161668'...
2014-11-06 15:14:45-0800 [-] Map loaded successfully.
2014-11-06 15:14:46-0800 [-] Started server...
2014-11-06 15:14:46-0800 [HTTPPageGetter,client] Server identifier is aos://x
2014-11-06 15:14:46-0800 [-] Master connection established.



After changing irc information:
sh run_server.sh
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "run.py", line 33, in <module>
config = json.load(open(name, 'rb'))
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/json/__init__.py", line 290, in load
**kw)
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/json/__init__.py", line 338, in loads
return _default_decoder.decode(s)
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/json/decoder.py", line 365, in decode
obj, end = self.raw_decode(s, idx=_w(s, 0).end())
File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/json/decoder.py", line 383, in raw_decode
raise ValueError("No JSON object could be decoded")
ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:59 am
by Lincent
Did you download GeoLiteCity.dat?

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:36 am
by shywolf91
Lincent wrote:
Did you download GeoLiteCity.dat?
I've don't think i've ever downloaded that before.

I don't get errors when I set irc and master to true/false but get the error when I change the server channel and/or password.

I currently have a working server on my windows desktop and don't believe I downloaded the geolitecity.dat. My irc settings are the same as the settings on my windows server config file.

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:10 am
by LeCom
No, PySnip works fine without GeoLiteCity.dat
Some other guy posted the same problem in the scripts section a few days ago. You did a mistake while editing the config.txt (too few or too many symbols at the wrong positions)
If you fail fixing it, try the config.txt.default

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:56 pm
by shywolf91
LeCom wrote:
No, PySnip works fine without GeoLiteCity.dat
Some other guy posted the same problem in the scripts section a few days ago. You did a mistake while editing the config.txt (too few or too many symbols at the wrong positions)
If you fail fixing it, try the config.txt.default
Thanks not sure where I made a mistake. I copied the code from my config file on my server installation on my pc and it works.

The error seems to occur if I try to change the #Channel and password on the config file. I made sure the format was the same but the error occurs only when I try changing it.

I found the issue. my mac text editor uses these "" (”) that appear to cause issues.

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:19 pm
by LeCom
shywolf91 wrote:
LeCom wrote:
No, PySnip works fine without GeoLiteCity.dat
Some other guy posted the same problem in the scripts section a few days ago. You did a mistake while editing the config.txt (too few or too many symbols at the wrong positions)
If you fail fixing it, try the config.txt.default
Thanks not sure where I made a mistake. I copied the code from my config file on my server installation on my pc and it works.

The error seems to occur if I try to change the #Channel and password on the config file. I made sure the format was the same but the error occurs only when I try changing it.

I found the issue. my mac text editor uses these "" (”) that appear to cause issues.
Pro tip: get a PC that isn't mac ;)

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:32 am
by shywolf91
LeCom wrote:
shywolf91 wrote:
LeCom wrote:
No, PySnip works fine without GeoLiteCity.dat
Some other guy posted the same problem in the scripts section a few days ago. You did a mistake while editing the config.txt (too few or too many symbols at the wrong positions)
If you fail fixing it, try the config.txt.default
Thanks not sure where I made a mistake. I copied the code from my config file on my server installation on my pc and it works.

The error seems to occur if I try to change the #Channel and password on the config file. I made sure the format was the same but the error occurs only when I try changing it.

I found the issue. my mac text editor uses these "" (”) that appear to cause issues.
Pro tip: get a PC that isn't mac ;)
I do have a pc but I love the mac operating system. I also have a linux computer.

My mac is my daily(school) computer and my pc desktop is my dedicated gaming machine.

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:10 am
by Zekamalikyd
why are you playing games at school
just pay attention
fucks sake

if you're not, then why not just use your gaming rig

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:43 pm
by shywolf91
Zekamalikyd wrote:
why are you playing games at school
just pay attention
fucks sake

if you're not, then why not just use your gaming rig
I do pay attention. I take some challenging classes to (multivariable calculus, organic chemistry ,etc). I'm in college so I have some free time to relax so I use my mac to pass the time. I'm not like a couple people in my class that watch baseball on their laptops during class.

Back on topic: my issue was fixed so thank-you for helping me.

Re: pysnip on mac osx

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:45 am
by lucygp
I'm in college so I have some free time to relax








_______________________________________
Fut coins